The Hope Prize

The Hope Prize is the Brotherhood of St Laurence’s national short story competition and it is now open for entries!

The prize aims to explore resilience in the face of poverty and disadvantage, encouraging Australian writers to look beyond common stereotypes to investigate the strengths that people show in dealing with hardship, whose voices are rarely heard.

Short stories entered for The Hope Prize can be fiction or fact. Whatever the genre, the story submitted must convey the experience of people facing hardship in their lives.

The judges are actor Cate Blanchett, author Kate Grenville, and former governor general Dame Quentin Bryce.


Eligibility: Australian residents

Length: 2000 to 5000 words

Prize: First place $10,000, second place $4000, third place $2000, highly commended $250, emerging writer (under 18) $500

Theme: Open, though must investigate the strengths that people show in dealing with hardship

Closing: 31 January 2018



Women’s Writing Career Development Scholarships

In addition to the Hope Prize, The Brotherhood of St Laurence are awarding two Women’s Writing Career Development Scholarships to recognise the many additional challenges women face in our community. The patron of the scholarship hopes that the scholarships will give two women a special opportunity to thrive.

To enter this competition, see the guidelines. You will need to provide a short statement (up to 100 words) on how winning a scholarship will help you further develop your writing skills. Scholarship winners will be chosen taking into account both the literary merit of their short story and their personal circumstances.

Prize: $5,000 each