Award Winning Bush Verse & Stories 2013

David Campbell ed.

Following the success of the 2012 edition of *Award Winning Bush Verse and Stories (AWBV)*, which won the Collected Verse Book of the Year award at the Australian Bush Laureate Awards, Melbourne Books proudly presents the second edition of *AWBV*.

AWBV is the first nationally distributed anthology wholly dedicated to award-winning poems and stories that take inspiration from Australians and the Australian way of life, both historical and contemporary. These poems and stories follow in the tradition established by such literary giants as Henry Lawson, Banjo Paterson and C. J. Dennis. These days bush poetry is celebrated through numerous festivals and competitions, ranging from Bundaberg's Bush Lantern to Tamworth's Blackened Billy; Ipswich's Poetry Feast to the Laura Arts Festival Literary Awards.

Other competitions featured in the 2013 edition of *AWBV* include:

- ABPA National Championships
- Gilgandra Coo-ee Festival
- Hal Porter Short Story Competition
- Boyup Brook Literary Festival
- Morisset Hunter Bush Poets Written Competition
- Eaglehawk Dahlia and Arts Festival
- Bryan Kelleher Award
- Dunedoo Bush Poetry Festival

This year, the anthology features a story by that great Australian storyteller Henry Lawson, and also pays tribute to the wonderful skills of the multi-award-winning poet Graham Fredriksen, who tragically passed away in 2010. Both of these contributions were selected by the 2013 editor, David Campbell.

Much like its precursor, *AWBV 2013* is committed to showcasing Australia's diverse literary landscape. In this way, it offers an opportunity to engage with a unique artform, while also bringing together in one place the many talented writers whose work is represented in its pages.



ABOUT THE EDITOR

David Campbell began taking writing seriously in 2001, and won his first bush poetry award the year after. Since then, he has gone on to win three Tamworth Blackened Billy Awards, three Bundaberg Bush Lanterns, two Boree Logs, the Bronze Swagman, two Henry Lawson Society of NSW Awards, a North Pine Camp Oven, the Rolf Boldrewood Award, four successive Victorian Bush Championships, and two NSW Championships. He has contributed to three poetry books for children, and in 2007 published Skycatcher, an anthology of original Australian bush verse, and Morning Light, a collection of prize-winning short stories. His writing has been published in a number of books and magazines, including The Best Australian Stories 2005, Award Winning Australian Writing 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012, Award Winning Bush Verse and Stories 2012, and The Best Australian Poems 2012. In early 2013 he published Riders on the Wind, a new collection of bush verse.

Category: Australian Literature / Poetr

Release: August 2013 Editor: David Campbell

For interviews, review copies or other queries

contact: info@melbournebooks.com.aเ