AWAW 2017 Contributors Announced!

3rd July 2017

After much deliberation, the team at Melbourne Books have finalised the list of contributors for the tenth anniversary edition of Award Winning Australian Writing. So, without further ado, here are our 2017 contributors:


Eugen BaconHoney Gone Sour

Meniscus Literary Journal — Best Prose Award


Claire BakerDinner with family

Jugiong Writers’ Festival Adult Open Category


William BennettThat Man Mendel

New England Writers’ Centre — Thunderbolt Prize


Jenny BlackfordCooking up a Murder

Scarlet Stiletto Australia Short Story Awards


Barbara BufiHome

SWWQ Open Competition Poetry


Irene BucklerNightfall

Field of Words — Round 2 Flash Fiction


Robyn ButlerMy Grandfather, the Fish

Waterline Writing Competition — Bass Coast Resident’s Short Story


David CampbellA Man Alone

Laura Literary Awards — Open Bush Poetry Section


Faye ChangMountains

Dorothea Mackellar Poetry Competition — Upper Primary Category


P. S. CottierThe Cat's New Beard

FAW National Literary Awards — ‘How-Tweet-It-Is Poetry Award’ Section


Maryrose CuskellyWell before dark

New England Thunderbolt Prize for Crime Writing (Non-fiction)


Cam DangAll the Dead Lovers

Hotel Diaspora Award


Katelin FarnsworthBunny Rabbits

Editors Choice Award (Verandah Literary Journal, Volume 31) 


Jan FosterDearly Beloved

Whittlesea Word Weavers Short Story Award


Maree GallopCold Comfort

Port Stephens Examiner Literature Award


K. W. George — Telling a Weed from a Flower

Field of Words Short Story Award


Mindy GillAugust Burns The Sky Like Rubber

Tom Collins Poetry Prize


Kevin Gillamand still

OOTA Spilt Ink Writing Competition —Poetry


Irma GoldThe Line

City of Rockingham Short Fiction Awards


Julia Tulloh HarperBroad Hatchet

Overland VU Short Story Prize


Keren HeenanUnder the Skin of Things

Allan Marshall Award — Open Category


Gail HennessyThe dichotomy of the paper flower

Philip Bacon Ekphrasis Award: QPF


Ian HoodDrowning Satan

New England Thunderbolt Prize for Crime Poetry


Mike HopkinsMy Father's Blood

Salisbury Writers’ Week Poetry Competition — Adult, Open Category


Julia HorncastleNunc Stans

Katharine Susannah Prichard Flora Smith Award — Best WA Unpublished Poet


Coco HuangMr Takuma

Laura Literary Award — Young Adult Prose


Marilyn HumbertRicco

Ethel Webb Blundell Literary Award — Poetry


Elvice IkuoIn my language they call me Ume Ibiegi (bird of paradisee)

The Dorothea Mackellar Poetry Awards


Miguel Jacqflower of distant season

Nillumbik Ekphrasis Poetry Award — Open Category


Sarah JaegerExquisite Evocation

Dorothea Mackellar Poetry Award — Junior Secondary Category


Brenda JoySolace

Boyup Brook Country Music Festival — Bush Poetry Writers Competition


Yumna KassabUnit 101



Louis KleeSentence to Lilacs

ABR Peter Porter Prize


Rebecca LehmanThe Collection Agency

Katharine Susannah Prichard Speculative Fiction Award


Edna LeightonNo Fixed Abode

Annual Waterline Writing Competition — Poetry


Beverley LelloSounds Like Rain

The Booranga Prize for Fiction


Carmel LillisThe Battle of the Choirs

Henry Lawson Festival (Grenfell) Festival of Arts Open Short Story Competition and Harold Godwin Stat


Tom McIlveenBobby is Back

ABPA WA State Championship — Serious Section


Max Merckenschlager — An Outback State of Mind

ABPA Betty Olle Awards


Mark MillerDeepening Dusk

FAW QLD Literary Awards — Haiku Category


Catherine MoffatBetter Homes and Gardens

Brotherhood of St Laurence Hope Prize


Will MoodyEternity

Poetica Christi Press Poetry Competition


Joanna NellMind over Matter

FAW National Literary Awards — Jennifer Burbidge Priz


Damen O'BrienFacts and Fantasies

Katharine Susannah Prichard Poetry Prize


Kathie OldenVessels of Stone

Joseph Furphy Commemorative Literary Prize — Short Story, Open Category


Margot OgilvieLiving Eulogy

Clare Readers and Writers Festival Short Story Competition


Clemence OverallTwo Hands Touching: The Gift

Nillumbik Ekphrasis Poetry Award — Local Category


Gemma ParkerIn the Ring

Shoalhaven Literary Award — Poetry


Jenny Pollak497 small disappointments

Bruce Dawe Poetry Prize


Maryanne Ross Secrets

New England Thunderbolt Prize for Crime Writing


Josephine Rowe Glisk

ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize


John ScholzEast West Tiger

Federation of Australian Writers (Victoria) Angelo B. Natoli Award


Pauline SorensenA Nice Boy

Stringybark Stories Annual Short Story Award


R. J. Tennyson — Tonight's the Night I'm Going to Shine

Hal Porter Short Story Competition


Roger VickeryFitzy's Complaint

Rolfe Boldrewood Literary Award for Prose


Cameron Weston Sweeping

Overland Story Wine Prize


Ruth WykesStone Cold

Scarlet Stiletto Award